Thursday, June 15, 2017

Successful author Chimamanda Adichie is the first Nigerian to receive Mary McCarthy award.

Chimamanda Adichie recieved the revered Mary McCarthy Award for her work as a writer and prominent public awareness on social issues.

The prestigious award show held at Bard College, New York. The McCarthy award which is named after famous novelist Mary McCarthy who taught at Bard College for a year, is given in acknowledgement of engagement in the public sphere by an intellectual, artist, or writer.

Some other notable recipients of the award are Margaret Atwood (the author of The Handmaid’s Tale), Zadie Smith, Mona Simpson, and Susan Sontag.

The Mary McCarthy Prize in short fiction includes a $2,000 cash award, publication of a collection of short stories or novella and a standard royalty contract.


1 comment:

  1. I'm very glad that she received this award! She's fantastic! For some more information land


Your comments are highly appreciated.
If you have a fiction story, news, gist, or interesting post,
Contact me:

Featured post


It is official! I am happy to announce, I’ve birth my first baby  ‘Twisted Dimensions’! I should have revealed about my book/EBook late last...